top of page

Are your apologies working?

Couple Talking

The Five Languages of Apology is a concept developed by Gary Chapman and Jennifer Thomas, which outlines the different ways people prefer to give and receive apologies. These languages include expressing regret, accepting responsibility, making restitution, genuinely repenting, and requesting forgiveness. 

  1. Expressing regret involves saying “I’m sorry” and discussing the feelings of the person who was hurt. For example, "I'm sorry for breaking your vase. I know it's important to you, and I feel terrible for my carelessness." 

  2. Accepting responsibility means saying, “I was wrong,” and taking ownership of the mistake. For example, "I was wrong for packing your vase poorly. I shouldn't have let my impatience get the best of me." 

  3. Making restitution involves asking, “How can I make it right?” and offering to make amends. For example, "I'm sorry for breaking your vase. How can I make it right? Would you like me to buy you a new one, or is there anything else to make it up to you?" 

  4. Genuinely repenting means saying, “I’ll try not to do that again” and taking steps to prevent the mistake from happening again. For example, "I'm sorry for breaking your vase. I'll make sure to use better packing materials next time so it doesn't happen again." 

  5. Requesting forgiveness involves asking, “Will you please forgive me?” and seeking forgiveness from the person who was hurt. For example, "I'm sorry for breaking your vase. Will you please forgive me?" 

Understanding and using these apology languages can help improve communication and relationships by allowing people to apologize in a way that is meaningful to the person they are apologizing to. 

2 views0 comments


bottom of page